NaPoWriMo #22 – As Good As Love Gets

I will love you enough to
open a joint savings account,
apply for a mortgage, negotiate
our credit score, haggle with interior
decorators, go on holiday with your parents,

I will travel a reasonable distance
at night to visit you, learn
new recipes, buy a dog, share custody
of our Netflix account, be woken up
by your snoring, go to IKEA

I will iron your shirts, debate catchment
areas and property resale value, consider
career prospects, surprise you with
small gifts at opportune moments, apologise
when I am wrong, buy a new bed

You make me feel good, and I hope
to make you feel good, and I hope
we last a while, and I hope
that is the point, and I hope
this is as good as it gets.

Leave a Reply

